MAGIC OF MELBOURNE PART 2

Posted on Updated on

It’s a weekday and  usually I’d bang the alarm clock several times before I realize I need to force myself to get out of bed for either work or uni in Sydney.  But not today, it doesn’t take a lot of effort to roll out of bed early, especially when your body senses and  your mind dreams of what to eat the next morning , even your energy fuel is high enough to make it for breakfast on time . Crack of dawn , my stomach was set on having scrambled eggs along with a nice slice of freshly baked fluffy bread.  Found my match The Hardware Societe [CBD118-120 Hardware St Melbourne, VIC 3000], definitely not hard to miss at all because people are all huddled up in a line like penguins to wait to be seated. However for the solo’s you are guaranteed a spot as soon as you mention table for one. It’s like your VIP and walk straight in and the penguins give you that disapprove look. But that’s because this cafe is based for couples and group lunches.

Sat in a large shared table of a couple and three young teens right next to the kitchen, which was perfect for me. So I can sneak peak to see what to order by observing it and that is when I discovered Scrambled Eggs alongside  wit it was baguette. Basically it’s a set , brilliant Hardware Societe! I quickly asked the lady if she could order what the other waitress was serving to the other table and surprise me with the cafe’s famous drink. She pleasantly responded hot chocolate, not just an ordinary hot chocolate, until you give it a try.  Without her finishing describing the hot chocolate I said order it for me please.

Followed the lively music of the Spanish band outside few shops away from the cafe was just so soothing to sit and good-naturedly wait for my meal to arrive. The lady arrived with a jug and a cup, stunned I looked at it and paused.  Innovation indeed, the cup filled with cream and thick milk chocolate that goosed inside the cup with a splash of coco powder and for the jug piping hot chocolate milk to pour into the cup, very chocolate indeed.  It’s not very sweet, just perfect level of sweetness. Made of 98% coco beans.

Whilst pouring, I could see the teen group, sit in silence watch me pour my hot chocolate, I think they had the same reaction as me. Overheard all three teens order hot chocolate.

Scrambled eggs arrived and boy  so creamy and yummy. Such a large portion, I still managed to demolish it all by myself. Winning.  The baguette is freshly baked daily, crunchy and crisp on the outside as for the inside so soft and fluffy.  My baguette was filled with moreton bay bug with lemon dressing and mayo. Outstanding, almost the entire cafe had ordered exact same dish.

The baguette mix salad looks so funky and organic. It has a twist to it making it look hipster.

What’s the best thing to do after a satisfying breakfast? Wandering through the cities antique state library and falling for historic architecture is energizing after a satisfying breakfast earlier in the day.

I wandered aimlessly discovering the libraries entire building , door to door it was nice to embrace true historic paintings around the walls and sculptures just effortlessly looking stunning.

Lunchtime I slowly exited the library in search for burger time. I’ve been nagged so many times to go to Huxtaburger (106 Smith St, Collingwood)  so a taxi ride later we grabbed a seat right in front of the shop and ordered the famous Huxtabuger ($8.50) with beef pattie, mustard, mayo, tomato sauce, tomato, cheese, lettuce, pickles. It was stunningly juicy and tasty, especially the burger bun.

And by the end of the night I ended up at Milk the Cow (157 Fitzroy Street, St Kilda VIC 3182) where Cheese & Wine Tasting Flight ($18) and Cheese & Beer Tasting Flight ($16) were Cheese and wine go together like Romeo and Juliet. Way to end a lovely day in Melbourne, truly a appetizing city!

The Hardware Societe on UrbanspoonHuxtaburger on UrbanspoonMilk the Cow on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “MAGIC OF MELBOURNE PART 2

    mango.shenanigans said:
    April 8, 2013 at 2:33 AM

    i want to be there too *sigh*
    good shots!!

      Ness responded:
      April 8, 2013 at 11:59 PM

      I’m sure one day you will be there 🙂

      Thanks Mango.shenanigans

    […] way  to The Hardware Societe before the morning peak hour.  I previously mentioned my last visit here was lunch and it caused such a hype for me to try it again. This time I didn’t have to go […]

Leave a Reply

