Sour Times

Posted on Updated on

Over the weekend I was hoping to do something fun in the kitchen besides thinking about work and studies. There are days when life gives you lemons so I just add sugar and water to make lemonade.

That’s right, I found a pile of lemons sitting patiently waiting for me to make use of them. ย Alternatively what I could of done was find salt and tequila, but I guess the lemons wouldn’t feel appreciated.

Moving on… Simple steps you readers out there want to make if ever you come across a sour problem! You will need 2 large bowls, 1 fork, 1 jug, 1 wooden spoon and cups. For the lemonade I used 5 lemons, 1 cup of brown sugarย white sugar, I discovered brown sugar wasn’t a good blend after tasting it, but I guess it really depends the level of sweetness you like , 2 cups of hot water, 1 cup of cold water and ice to serve.

Make sure you slice your lemons in half not in wedges, otherwise it’s harder to squeeze out the juice. (That’s in my opinion of course!) or by not following the old fashion way still slice lemons in half and use the lemon squeezer to save your effort. Tip: For me my trick before squeezing the lemons was to use a fork. Poke the lemons using the fork so it’s easier to squeeze.

After the hard work out by then you’d have concentrated lemon juice. Add 2 cups of hot water, stir with wooden spoon, ย let it sit for 30minutes then slowly add 1 cup of white sugar, stir, after that add 1 cup of cold water, stir and let it cool down till whenever you are ready to serve. Tip: I usually let it sit in the fridge overnight, somehow taste more refreshing.

To serve just add ice and garnish it with a slice of lemon or even mint for extra burst of flavour and add a yellow straw.

Hmmm… What about the used lemons? Well for me I usually store it in the fridge near the overwhelming smell of raw food. Shockingly it does seem to get rid of the smell every time I open the fridge or use those lemons to clean silver taps in bathrooms to kitchen. It does remove the stains and icky bits, leaving natural fragrant and squeaky clean finish.

And close up of the lemon faces.

Photos by Vanny Tang

2 thoughts on “Sour Times

    milkteaxx said:
    May 1, 2013 at 2:05 PM

    i love homemade lemonnade! yum yum!

      Ness responded:
      May 1, 2013 at 3:34 PM

      Me too milkteaxx ! ๐Ÿ˜€ It reminds me of summer.

Leave a Reply

