Chur Burger – A Sydney Burger Domination

Posted on

Things get foodie serious when I have a free Saturday. What this means is I am able to venture in Sydney without looking at the time and to tick off my “nom nom list”. We go ahead and make our way to Chur Burger in Surry Hills, ready for a top quality burger feed. As I heard from a burger enthusiast, “Gundam Babe”, it has been claimed the best burger joint in Sydney, literally. From a simple burger vision, Warren Turnbull’s has turned ordinary burger to something that I call “A Sydney Burger Domination”, just by using tastiest of ingredients. But also with the overwritten posts about this place from food bloggers to Sydney food critics, it has come to my attention to join this tradition.

Located on a corner of a busy street means its super easy to find, especially when its lunch hour rush. People patiently willing to line up outside Chur Burger’s white wooden glass doors means it must be one freaken tasty burger. The atmosphere is so different to what I imagined, its very bright casual laid back dining and to add with the loud quirky background music means its fun.

ResizedChur Burger (1)

Drink wise and go for a Hillbilly crushed pear cider ($9)– Surprisingly one sip and it soon became my FAVOURITE Cider. Its too easy to drink with refreshing fizz and fragrance of pear that taste so crisp in a bottle.

ResizedChur Burger (1A)

Hillbilly crushed pear cider ($9)

Milo Milkshake all with Heilala vanilla ($8) sounds fancy pants right? Turned out to be just Milo. No biggie.

ResizedChur Burger (2)

Milo Milkshake all with Heilala vanilla ($8)

We couldn’t resist choosing their signature Beef Burger – A luscious grilled beef patty, tomato relish that beats regular tomato sauce, melted cheese , mustard mayo and pickle cucumber ribbons on a lightly toasted soft sweet brioche bun for a crazy price of ($10).

ResizedChur Burger (3A)

Grilled beef, cheese, tomato jam, mustard mayo, pickle ($10)

Before any meal, its a ritual to…you know… 😛 Whilst taking a few snaps, the top brioche bun slowly slides off as you can see below in the picture. Its tilted to a certain degree because of the cheese melting, which meant the burger professionalist had freshly made to order. Given the bun, patty and the sexy cheese dribble, you can kind of see it all meld into each other. Enough said. Teehee

ResizedChur Burger (3B)

I love potato in all forms and I thought it be interesting to try thick cut Sweet potato fries ($5) with garlic and lime seasoning . It’s not your ordinary chips, more like wedges. Though it was a bit soggy, it has proven itself with burst of intense tangy, garlicky, sweet potato flavours guaranteed to keep asking for more.

ResizedChur Burger (5)

Sweet potato fries, garlic, lime ($5)

ResizedChur Burger (6)

Close up shot of one of the Sweet Potato Fries

Looking for something more meatier? Well let me introduce you to Pulled pork burger ($10) Guarantee their Chur BBQ sauce will slowly run down your fingers before you even get a chance to notice it. Made with spaghetti strands of red slaw and bathed in fennel mayo, one bite in and you’re somehow hooked in a whole spread of marinated juicy, tender pork. I gave this burger two thumbs up because each bite was more delicious than the last.

ResizedChur Burger (7)

Pulled pork, Chur BBQ sauce, red slaw, fennel mayo ($10)

ResizedChur Burger (7B)

Oh look, the brioche top bun is sprinkled with sesame seeds.

There’s a reason why they call it pulled pork because you’re suppose to use a fork to pull the strands of pork out. Maybe not…I suppose that’s my idea or perhaps its pure genius they provided a fork and knife.

ResizedChur Burger (8A)

Chur Burger has proven that their burgers are so far the best in Sydney. Before I even finished my last bite of my burger, I already started planning the next visit. I think the mass amounts of meat, dribble cheese and prices are to die for compared to other burger joints in the CBD. It’s going to be a struggle when I return because every burger looks very tempting.

ResizedChur Burger (9)

Photos by Vanny Tang

Like to know more about Nessy Eater food adventures?

You can follow Nessy Eater on Instagram / Facebook / Twitter or feel free to leave a YUMMY comment 😀

Chur Burger on Urbanspoon

14 thoughts on “Chur Burger – A Sydney Burger Domination

    Trent @ Food Assault said:
    December 7, 2013 at 9:14 PM

    This is by far my favourite burger joint in Sydney, going with the majority too I guess. You didn’t go the spicy wings? At least it gives you a reason to head back again soon for another venture.

    I hear they’re having an extended closure over the holiday season so I’ll need to get in hopefully before they close.

    My favourite is the fish burger which surprised me. Mind you, I’ll be sampling the pulled pork for the first time. Their salted caramel shakes are amazing.

      invidiaz said:
      December 8, 2013 at 8:49 PM

      I liked the fish burger too. The fish is crispy and the accompanying sauce does not interfere with the overall taste.

        Nessy Eater responded:
        December 9, 2013 at 5:32 PM

        I’ll be definitely ordering this when I visit Chur again. Thinking about it makes me hungry now 😛

      Nessy Eater responded:
      December 9, 2013 at 5:30 PM

      I missed out on the spicy wings because my main focus was the burger. I’ll have to try it next time when I revisit this place.

      Yes, the fish burger seems to be very eye catching on the menu. That was actually my first choice, but the pulled pork won me over 😛

      I’ll keep an eye out if they have salted caramel. By memory not any more.

    grabyourfork said:
    December 8, 2013 at 10:25 PM

    lol it’s always a heartwrenching moment when your food starts to slide mid-photo! haha….

      Nessy Eater responded:
      December 9, 2013 at 5:34 PM

      Indeed! I had to keep tilting my camera every time the burger moved. It was an epic burger photo snapping moment 😛

    Sherrie @ Crystal Noir said:
    December 8, 2013 at 10:49 PM

    Pulled pork!!!! SO DELICIOUS!!! I want to eat that burger – looks so good!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      December 9, 2013 at 5:35 PM

      Who can resist pulled pork when its so darn tasty! 😛

    sydneyguyrojoe said:
    December 9, 2013 at 7:13 PM

    Looks good,i find it hard to NOT try a burger with pork meat in it!!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      December 9, 2013 at 11:27 PM

      This is heavenly delish! So true, I really couldn’t skip the pulled pork burger, especially when its bathed in Chur BBQ sauce. YUM!

    Ramen Raff said:
    December 9, 2013 at 7:29 PM

    I totes love this joint! My go to place for awesome beef burgers.

      Nessy Eater responded:
      December 9, 2013 at 11:35 PM

      I am certainly glad I finally stepped into this burger joint. Insert *happy dance* However very sad I didn’t get to try the deliciously famous pork belly you created. Perhaps one day I have to personally ask you to make me one or *fingers crossed* this pork belly burger will show up on the menu once more. 😛

    milkteaxx said:
    December 10, 2013 at 1:39 PM

    i loved my pulled pork burger and vanilla milkshake here. so amazing!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      December 10, 2013 at 10:31 PM

      It is one burger that shouldn’t be missed ! 😛 I think I have to try the one you recommended as the Milo was just milo…

Leave a Reply

