Saké Restaurant – Sweet Japanese Snapshots

Posted on Updated on

WooHoo! It happened again…walking into a restaurant and skipping the entree, main and just jump straight into the SWEET DESSERT menu. Yes, we pretty much ordered the entire dessert list that Saké Restaurant at The Rocks have displayed. Feeling confused? Click here for my first time 7 sweet sins. Starting with the Miso Caramel Chocolate Fondant ($15) – A warm chocolate pudding with a miso caramel cream cent caramelized white chocolate ice cream. This irresistible rich chocolate dessert is for the most devoted of chocolate lovers. How do you ensure success on this fondant? Well, it’s absolutely fabulous when it’s served hot and intense with a meltingly soft gooey centre. If you want to combined it with something a bit lighter, a little more sophisticated then scoop it along with ice cream. There is a way you have to eat chocolate and this is the way! Sake (5)

Miso Caramel Chocolate Fondant ($15)

For sweet kawaii indulgence, try Caramel Koi Pond ($16) – It is white chocolate and milk chocolate “koi” fish filled with yu miso caramel with shortbread respectively, served with a chocolate and green tea ganache. I love that the koi pond had different types of coloured chocolate fish. This dish totally works as the fish shaped chocolates melts on your tongue and reaches different mild and sweet cocoa flavours. It produces an aroma when it begins to melt and once the piece slowly disappears, a nice crumbly crunch to finish it off. It’s like passion in your mouth, so yes, it’s CHOCOLATE GOODNESS alright. As for the blue pond, it’s an amazing wobbly jelly. Sake (1)

Hey there… Caramel Koi Pond ($16)

The Yuzu Soufflé ($15) with the tropical fruit elements were an eye opener. This steamed soufflé with fresh rock melon and coconut is impossibly delicate and moist, like an airy cheesecake topped with a shiny silky sweet curd. If you examine closely the curd naturally separates at room temperature and creates a fun two-tiered textured dessert. This soufflé may appear lumpy but one spoonful of this result to a texture that is super smooth, pillowy and doesn’t seem to fail us.

Sake (4)

Looking bright there Yuzu Soufflé ($15)

There’s a reason why people always end with green tea desserts. If you count yourself as a fan of green tea then the wait is over, don’t hesitate to order the Saké signature dessert, Green Tea Kit Kat ($14) – The green tea flavour is accompanied with layered Valrhona milk chocolate crunch. Beyond the white chocolate and green tea ganache is chocolate wafer. For decoration cherry jelly. Atop, a scoop of  earl grey tea ice cream. This is truly one impeccable double sized kit kat. What starts off as quite a pleasant rich smooth flow of flavours develop into an interesting introduction of the sleeky sticky cherry jelly, following the melting scoop of earl grey ice cream. This is heaven on your tongue for the green tea fanatics because the natural flavours has the aroma spot on. A sweet first bite followed by a refreshing bitter tea after-taste is obviously some kind of sign that this dessert needed to be reviewed, right? Hehe. Sake (7)

Bathe me in green tea baby! Green Tea Kit Kat ($14)

It can be pretty hard to shake that kind of dessert imagery out of your head when it comes to “naughty” food, one’s mind automatically turns to desserts. It can’t just be only me, right? 😛 Overall, Saké displays stunning desserts, particularly the Green Tea Kit Kat and Caramel Koi Pond, allowing guests to gain a better insight into Japanese sweet flavours. My next visit to Saké should be at the sushi bar, but I have to first TRY avoid the dessert menu till after my main meal. Tehehehehe

Photos by Vanny Tang

Like to know more about Nessy Eater food adventures?

You can follow Nessy Eater on Instagram / Facebook / Twitter or feel free to leave a YUMMY comment 😀

Saké Restaurant & Bar on Urbanspoon

19 thoughts on “Saké Restaurant – Sweet Japanese Snapshots

    iFat (@iFat23) said:
    June 2, 2014 at 5:16 PM

    I can’t believe you wrote this review LOL.

    You know why ;D

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 2, 2014 at 11:52 PM

      HAha! I can’t believe I did too. It was WORTH IT!

    Michael @ I'm Still Hungry said:
    June 2, 2014 at 7:44 PM

    Whoa, visiting Sake just to have their desserts? You are strong in ways I never could be!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 2, 2014 at 11:52 PM

      Whoops! Excuse me for waiting dessert for dinner 😛

    chocolatesuze said:
    June 2, 2014 at 11:21 PM

    woah that yuzu souffle sounds amazing!

    Yvonne said:
    June 3, 2014 at 9:26 AM

    OMG I had the miso caramel chocolate on my last visit and thought it was the most amazing dessert I’d ever had too! But Sake just for desserts? That’s unheard of lol!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 3, 2014 at 2:41 PM

      Lol, I know right? Who does desserts only at a restaurant 😛

    Annie @ The Random Foodie said:
    June 3, 2014 at 3:12 PM

    now that’s an epic sugar hit! :p

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 4, 2014 at 1:36 PM

      Dame right is it! 😛 More to come, for sure.

    Von said:
    June 3, 2014 at 11:50 PM

    I’ve only ever only ordered dessert once, and I got strange looks from the waitresses haha 🙂 These desserts look amazing!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 4, 2014 at 1:38 PM

      I think it’s because they too would want to join your dessert adventures :p

    invidiaz said:
    June 5, 2014 at 8:37 AM

    Argh, I don’t ever make it to the dessert part! Looks like I’ll have to just skip mains.

    The caramel koi pond looks so so amazing! I was thinking that, maybe the blue’s just part of the plate. But no! It’s jelly! So much attention to detail.

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 5, 2014 at 9:48 PM

      Gotta think outside the box and work backwards 😛
      The caramel koi pond ROCKS! Very creative of them to make some jelly.

        invidiaz said:
        June 6, 2014 at 9:49 AM

        Yeah, I’ve always wanted to do that, and my friends look at me like I’m mad. Like the China Republic one, I would soooooo go for just the dessert for 8 as a meal. haha.

    Chris @ MAB vs Food said:
    June 8, 2014 at 1:33 PM

    That koi pond is so very cute!!! I would love to try the yuzu souffle. I have a massive weakness for anything with yuzu in it. Love that fruit!!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 11, 2014 at 4:13 PM

      I think my weakness has always been the desserts…ALWAYS!

      I recommend to order two koi pond because one is not enough and as for you yuzu souffle, thinking about it makes me want to go back now and order some more 😛

    ionlyeatdesserts said:
    June 11, 2014 at 5:07 PM

    LOL I have always wanted to walk into a restaurant and just order dessert but I’m scarred I’m gonna get death glared and kicked out (especially when I think of the Quay) 😄 Good effort from you to be so brave to go through it 😀 The food sounds delicious with all the hybrid Asian flavours – love how posh the green tea kit kat looked and sounded haha

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 11, 2014 at 5:13 PM

      There is no shame in ordering desserts for dinner, well at least that’s what I think 😛 You’re right! The green tea kit kat does look a bit posh, I didn’t notice that. Good spotting!

Leave a Reply

