Maille High Tea – Sydney’s First La Maison Maille Launch

Posted on Updated on

Did you know you can put mustard on everything from scrambled eggs to seafood? If you knew that already, then you got me. Then let me ask you another question, did you know there is one type of mustard that effectively cuts calories in half? Bet you didn’t! In Mosman’s Bridgepoint Shopping Centre, Maille has just recently opened up their first la maison boutique in Sydney with the collaboration of an Australian local supermarket, IGA. Maille strongly emphasis on creating a “community” atmosphere, which makes it ideal for Australian market.

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (1)

Maille’s intimate high tea

Nessy Eater_Maille (1)

The venue was at Boronia Tea House

The most extravagant of mustards will be available in Sydney and Melbourne and will house 24 varieties of mustards, vinaigrettes, vinegars and including the world’s most EXCLUSIVE MUSTARD, Périgord black truffle from Provence and Chablis from Burgundy. A small 100g pot retails for $100 a pop and I’ve been secretly informed, Maille is offering 5 x 500g jar of this extravagant mustard for $500 each pot in Australia. Help, i’m hyperventilating so hard right now. This is without doubt exclusive as the mustard emporium has supplied the European royal courts centuries ago and truffles are only available in France between November to March. Want to get your hands on the 500g black truffle and Chablis mustard? Then lucky you, I found out that Not Quite Nigella is running a competition that ends 31st of August, 2014. GOOD LUCK!

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (2)

 This is just a small portion of Maille products.

Mustard is indeed such a fine, exquisite taste that I never had the opportunity to appreciate it, until now. There’s so many applications for mustard for instance they have a special kind of characteristic in them including a richer, creamier consistency and flavours of spice. Being invited to attend a very intimate high tea with guests like Regional Mangers and CEO’s of IGA supermarket, Manly Daily, The Telegraph and my favourite food blogger Lorraine Elliott aka Not Quite Nigella (which I had cold feet and missed my chance to flirt with her by being too shy) because I was so blown away she was standing metres away from me. This also brings a very special guest who flew into Australia from Paris and is one of the world’s ten mustard sommeliers, Elodie Charlotte-Cleria.

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (4)

Be surprised  for some Maille mustard tasting. 

To be impressed by Maille mustard, Elodie Charlotte-Cleria expertly guides us through 15 different flavours of mustard. You should first smell the aroma of the mustard and then evenly spread it on a natural ingredient such as bread stick, a slice of bread (preferably white) or neutral crackers. After this, it is important to place the mustard on the tip of your tongue which is the most sensitive spot.

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (6)

 Breathtaking decorations

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (7)

He was having fun pumping $$$$ Périgord black truffle and Chablis mustard.

Our intimate mustard tasting was followed by a specially designed mustard-inspired high tea. The experience was so authentic, in terms of mustard wise. I’ve decided to copy their recipe when I DIY my own high tea at home. Various mustard flavours have their own pairing. You should of seen my eyes as they were open wide throughout the mustard tasting. It was like each mustard flavour knew how to seduce you.

Top level

  • House made scones with fresh cream infused with Maille Cognac Mustard

Second level: assortment of finger sandwiches

  • Double smoked ham on multigrain bread with Swiss Cheese and Maille Honey Balsamic Mustard
  • Smoked salmon and cucumber on white bread with Maille Parmesan Cheese and Basil Mustard

Bottom level:

  • Rare beef served on rye bread with rocket and Maille Chablis White Wine Mustard
  • Roasted beetroot on rye bread with Maille Blue Cheese Mustard

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (9)

Maille mustard-inspired high tea

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (10)

 English Breakfast from T2 Tea.

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (8)

 Can you imagine vinaigrette in your dessert?

Soon after, assortment of desserts arrived and they offered a very unique flavour. Some desserts really surprised me that it contained vinaigrette and I liked it. It’s amazing how one ingredient can change everything.

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (11)

You should of seen my face when the assortment of desserts arrived.

It was my duty to start dessert with Coconut mini gelato drizzled with Maille Passionfruit and Mango Vinaigrette. I am convinced this is one ingredient you’d want to concentrate on. It utterly impressed me that Maille nailed it. You wouldn’t be able to taste the vinaigrette as real fresh ingredients are added and the fruity flavour is just overpowering. It was completely flawless.

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (12)

 Coconut mini gelato drizzled with Maille Passionfruit and Mango Vinaigrette

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (13)

Maille Passionfruit and Mango Vinaigrette

Classic macarons with Maille Sauternes White Wine Mustard wasn’t what I expected. In my opinion, looks don’t count, it’s what’s inside that counts. The mustard did bring the white wine flavour forward and overall not overbearing in any way.

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (14)

 Classic macarons with Maille Sauternes White Wine Mustard 

Fresh mini strawberry tart with Maille Aged Balsmaic Vinegar of Modena was perfectly integrated into this dessert, though it may not be a favourite for some, as there was an intense complex sweet vinegar flavour but the vinegar slowly oxidizes under the influence of the tart.

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (15)

 Fresh mini strawberry tart with Maille Aged Balsmaic Vinegar of Modena

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (16)

 I think I had the best view in the house.

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (17)

 Time to cut the ribbon with IGA CEO and French Mustard Somelier, Amelia and Elodie Charlotte-Cleria .

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (18)

 HOORAY! Maille is open.

Having not tasted as much mustard before, my experience with Maille is unforgettable. I am salivating over the idea of so many mustard flavours that I never knew and I have Elodie Charlotte-Cleria and Maille to thank. I definitely have learnt a lot in the space of 3 hours, though there is a lot more to learn from Maille and it is fantastic they continue to educate those who have or haven’t been exposed to mustard. Its exclusive ‘mustard pump’ dispensing fresh mustard is a unique experience only available in its boutiques and we are very lucky Australia gets to enjoy this tasting experience. Overall, Maille French mustard has catapulted the world of condiments during cooking to add flavour or texture to the food and brought forward a whole new level of extravagance. It’s shocking I only discovered this now, but it’s never too late. You have to take every opportunity to exploit such an exotic condiment as it adds a subtle flavour.

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (19)

 Like to test your tastebuds with Maille?

The highlight of the high tea is not just experiencing the mustards but taking some home. We were each given an empty Maille gift bag with an empty black box. Our job was to fill it up with any Maille products we desired most. This is what I picked. I absolutely adore each mustard flavour as all the delicate flavours remain perfectly balanced and you’re able to appreciate it.

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (21)

Excellent range of gifts from Maille. 

Not only did we receive an awesome gift pack but EVERY GUEST received a 100g pot of Maille black truffle and chablis mustard as a gift. UH-BOH-LIEVABLE! That’s freaken $100!!! At the time, I was actually considering to hire two safeguards to protect me from getting truffle mugged. Teehee. Truffle is the most exquisite ingredient to have and it’s very rare to find, hence it’s expensive. Some say truffles are the culinary equivalent of sex, one whiff and the aroma will automatically turn you on. More importantly, it smells musky, earthy and pungent. The smell is so overwhelming that it infuses any meal. This truffle mustard certainly will be the golden crown on ANY dish, but in my opinion the perfect way to jazz it up is just eat it by the spoonful, a BIG SPOONFUL.

Maille Launch_Nessy Eater (20)

The world’s most EXCLUSIVE MUSTARD, Périgord black truffle and Chablis mustard.

Photos by Vanny Tang

Disclaimer: Nessy Eater attended as a guest to the launch of Maille , thanks to Maille and AC Agency.

Opinions are however, Nessy Eater’s own.

Like to know more about Nessy Eater food adventures?

You can follow Nessy Eater on Instagram / Facebook / Twitter or feel free to leave a YUMMY comment 😀

20 thoughts on “Maille High Tea – Sydney’s First La Maison Maille Launch

    Choc Chip Uru said:
    August 8, 2014 at 2:44 PM

    Haha omg a truffle guard? I would actually be considering it 😛
    What a WONDERFUL post, so jealous! This launch looks fantastic, and I am definitely angling to try this mustard soon! 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 14, 2014 at 12:41 AM

      Who wouldn’t want a truffle guard? 😛 Thanks Choc Chip Uru!

      You must Must MUST!

    Sherrie @ Crystal Noir said:
    August 8, 2014 at 7:45 PM

    Oh wow truffle in anything makes it sooo amazing!!

    GourmetGetaways (@GourmetGetaway) said:
    August 8, 2014 at 8:48 PM

    Looks like an elegant launch! Love the wooden spoon, too 🙂

    Julie
    Gourmet Getaways

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 19, 2014 at 12:42 AM

      It was definitely a elegant launch because of the MUSTARD! That wooden spoon sure is adorable.

    Amanda @ Gourmanda said:
    August 8, 2014 at 10:32 PM

    I read Lorraine’s post, and I was so impressed by the concept of truffle mustard – I’ve only ever really had the boring old English mustard or Dijon, I never even thought there could be fancier versions!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      September 6, 2014 at 7:56 PM

      OMG! How can I not have seen this comment, apologises for the delay. It’s interesting to see truffle being in almost every dish or sauces. I think the the truffle must is a must have in the kitchen.

    Helen | Grab Your Fork said:
    August 10, 2014 at 7:52 PM

    Tres fancy! So you’ll be fancying up your ham sandwich with some black truffle mustard sometime soon? 🙂

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 14, 2014 at 12:15 AM

      Truffle with ham, YUM! I am hoping to open this jar soon, real soon 😀

    Chris @ MAB vs Food said:
    August 10, 2014 at 8:35 PM

    You got a 100g pot of Maille black truffle and chablis mustard as a gift? I feel sad now cos I couldn’t go to this due to work. Work, you suck 😦 any way, great write up and pics! Sounds like you had a wonderful time!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 14, 2014 at 12:14 AM

      Sure got that truffle mustard pot as a gift! Yea, work sucks 😛

    Annie @ The Random Foodie said:
    August 10, 2014 at 10:54 PM

    so bummed that i couldn’t make it to this. the truffle mustard looks so awesome! so lucky you got that truffle mug too

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 14, 2014 at 12:13 AM

      Don’t worry Annie! Lucky for us they’ve opened a boutique in Mosman’s Bridgepoint Shopping Centre.

      Oh I haven’t opened that jar yet 😛

    Cassie | JFW (@__cassiiieee) said:
    August 14, 2014 at 3:35 PM

    Bwahahaaha I hear you, I’d totally have the same feelings if I saw NQN as well! Then later hate myself for not saying hi … Haha
    But love mustard and this doesn’t come cheap haha

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 14, 2014 at 11:15 PM

      If ever I spot her again, I am going to man up and walk straight to her direction and say hi 😛

      I think we should start our own mustard high tea party 😛

        Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella said:
        August 15, 2014 at 8:50 AM

        Nessy and Cassie, please say hello!! I can’t believe you were there too. Please next time say hello, I’d love to meet both of you! 😀 xxx

        Nessy Eater responded:
        August 19, 2014 at 12:48 AM

        Lorraine, if ever I get a chance to see you again in person, which is (highly unlikely) because you’re too awesome. I will TRY my best to say hello before I embarrass myself and faint because I was starstruck. LOL

    kiki@mykikicake said:
    August 18, 2014 at 5:32 PM

    Ooooh yummy yummy! This event looks amazing, I love a little high tea in my life. Truffle mustard…I am instantly thinking of the things I could do with this.

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 19, 2014 at 1:19 AM

      I love high teas too! Truffle mustard goes with ANYTHING! 😀

    […] know already I am such a FAN GIRL of her blog. Lorraine and I have crossed paths before at Maille High Tea, however I was sooooo nervous to introduce myself to her and plus it would have been freaky to go […]

Leave a Reply

