AZUMA- East meets West Dessert

Posted on Updated on

It’s fascinating how it’s that time of year again for GOOD FOOD MONTH. With over 100 food events happening throughout October, I honestly don’t know where to begin. With a series of cafes, bars and restaurants showcasing their own version of food celebration, it is vital to be the first to get those knifes and forks dirty. My first stop this year was AZUMA‘s “Let’s do Dessert. For ($20 per person) with the choice of AZUMA’s Special Blend Japanese Green Tea or glass of Yalumba FSW8B Botrytis Viogni, you’d be ready to start partying with a few harlem shake moves.

Azuma Sugar Hit 2014_Nessy Eater (1)AZUMA’s Dessert Bento Box ($20 per person)

I spent more time on the Umenoyado Fruit Sake Taste because it was ridiculously addictive with yuza. This shot of Japanese fruit wine came from Nara, Japan. I’ve been a great lover of all things fruity. Apart from the alcohol, this captivated me instantly at my first sip with the degree of citrus taste and sourness.

Azuma Sugar Hit 2014_Nessy Eater (2) Umenoyado Fruit Sake Taste 

Japanese Baumkuchen looked impressive with the different colours of layered cake and chestnut cream. I do believe this is the king of cakes for high tea as it provides a light, moist texture. The cream added an additional texture making it more desirable one bite after the other.

Azuma Sugar Hit 2014_Nessy Eater (3)Japanese Baumkuchen

Matcha Dark Chocolate are the candy green tea lovers have been waiting for. These indulgent two piece dark chocolate looked like they were generously rolled in matcha powder. It was hard to tell if it was chocolate when I first glanced at it. For my first observation I thought it was green tea marshmallows. Each square piece contains an incredible bittersweet and slightly bitter flavour.

Azuma Sugar Hit 2014_Nessy Eater (4)Matcha Dark Chocolate

I refused to keep playing these games with the Plum Sorbet as it contained full of the Japanese ume plum in sake syrup. The flavours and textures marry so harmonise well together and it was perfect in so many ways. This brightly flavoured fruit sorbet freshened a few food coma faces. The toothpick that marks its territory with a pitted plum intensified the flavours even more in a delightful way.

Azuma Sugar Hit 2014_Nessy Eater (5)  Plum Sorbet 

Mango Yokan was really decent, it wasn’t overly sweet to the point of intoxication, however you can sense some sugar rush going down your intestine. The pudding like texture was kinda firm and bouncy at the same time. This Japanese jellied dessert was made of mango puree and sugar. This dessert wasn’t a wow factor for me, but it was very satisfying in its own way.

Azuma Sugar Hit 2014_Nessy Eater (6) Mango Yokan

Look at the lovely face of the Chocolate Truffle Cake, though I liked the presentation but when I first tasted it, this made me cry because it was a little bit dry. Lucky for me, that pipped whipped cream atop and slice of fresh strawberry saved the day. Served at room temperature I honestly hoped they’d provide a scoop of vanilla ice-cream. Just saying! 😀

My overall verdict for AZUMA’s East meets West Dessert is DO GO. I personally think this is so worth it. This bento box is so fun that it contains 6 dessert assortment and it comes with either green tea or dessert wine. The sweet things are always the best things!

Azuma Sugar Hit 2014_Nessy Eater (7) Chocolate Truffle Cake

Photos by Vanny Tang

Like to know more about Nessy Eater food adventures?

You can follow Nessy Eater on Instagram / Facebook / Twitter or feel free to leave a YUMMY comment 😀

Azuma on Urbanspoon

24 thoughts on “AZUMA- East meets West Dessert

    delectablydegusting said:
    October 12, 2014 at 8:53 PM

    I think the matcha dark chocolate and chesnut cake is enough to make me go!!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      October 17, 2014 at 1:03 PM

      Matcha FTW! As for that cake, the bomb! 😀

    Amanda @ Gourmanda said:
    October 12, 2014 at 10:36 PM

    Wow, you get all this for $20? It definitely looks like it’s worth trying!

    I’ve got one of my first GFM events coming up this week – a friend and I are going to the Bridge Room for lunch! I’m very excited!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      October 17, 2014 at 1:04 PM

      That’s right. $20! OMG Bridge Room sounds exciting. Let me know how it went 😀

    chocolatesuze said:
    October 13, 2014 at 11:24 AM

    mmm that looks delish! Azuma always has the best desserts for gfm!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      October 17, 2014 at 1:07 PM

      Azuma is always first on my list when gfm is here 😀

    gourmetgetaway said:
    October 13, 2014 at 4:31 PM

    Oh wow! Now it will be too hard to choose! Have to ale sure there are friends tagging along so I could sample a bit of everything!

    Gourmet Getaways

      Nessy Eater responded:
      October 17, 2014 at 1:09 PM

      Yes, dessert sampling is fun when friends tag along 😀

    Choc Chip Uru said:
    October 13, 2014 at 9:23 PM

    OMG chocolate truffle cake all the way, what a gorgeous spread of deliciousness 😀
    Need to try Azuma’s desserts!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

      Nessy Eater responded:
      October 17, 2014 at 1:12 PM

      The word truffle always makes me smile 😀
      Well worth a visit!

    Cassandra (@__cassiiieee) said:
    October 14, 2014 at 9:29 AM

    Azuma and their fun, different parts of sweets! the japanese Baumkuchen looks so good!! but then the matcha dark choc also has me! yummy

      Nessy Eater responded:
      October 17, 2014 at 1:15 PM

      I personally think the whole bento box stole my heart when it was being served right in front of me 😛

    Chris @ MAB vs Food said:
    October 14, 2014 at 4:00 PM

    The Japanese desserts have always been my fave sugar hit during GFM. I like how you get to try different things. I love all those layers of the Baumkuchen cake, so soft an fluffy… I also like how they are doing the sugar hits earlier now (I used to hate having to wait til 9pm, maybe I’m just old)

      Nessy Eater responded:
      October 17, 2014 at 1:19 PM

      Can’t agree with you more! I totes heart how some restaurant’s provide a sample platter which allows us sugar lovers to get to try. It makes it more fun on a plate!

      I totes notice that too with sugar hit being super early now, like dinner time. I think I will have dessert for dinner for my next sugar hit. 😀

    Sherrie @ Crystal Noir said:
    October 14, 2014 at 8:42 PM

    Hooooooly sugar coma! Such good value for 20 bucks 😀

      Nessy Eater responded:
      October 17, 2014 at 1:23 PM

      I know right! $20 is seriously an awesome value 😀

    irene said:
    October 16, 2014 at 7:45 AM

    Mmmm I’ll need to hit this soon!

    Sihan said:
    October 17, 2014 at 4:23 PM

    That looks tight for a $20 package. Definitely worth the lot!

    ChopinandMysaucepan said:
    October 18, 2014 at 9:18 PM

    Dear Vanny,

    This box of dessert goodies looks pretty good even though I don’t have a sweet inclination.

      Nessy Eater responded:
      October 20, 2014 at 2:02 PM

      That’s fantastic to hear! Surprisingly, this bento ain’t that sweet after all. It has a great combination of flavours and textures, which will not disappoint.

    Shanshan Lam (@food_religion) said:
    October 26, 2014 at 5:51 PM

    ohhh i haven’t tried the azuma one yet! it looks so good! i find azuma always has one of the best value for money desserts too!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      October 30, 2014 at 1:29 AM

      Omg you better go before GFM ends! Which you only have one more day left. Totes agree it’s the best value for sugar hit 😀

Leave a Reply

