Appointment with ARIA, Sydney

Posted on

In Sydney I believe the perfect lunch is including a spectacular view. So I did a little research and TA DA I was on my way to ARIA. For lunch I believe Matt Moran and his team has created very elegant dishes to match the atmosphere. One thing I already liked about this restaurant is the fact it’s a set price menu for example $46 for one course, $74 for two course and $89 for three courses. Off course I went all out and decided to choose THREE COURSE!

Aria_Nessy Eater (1)

An intense and fruity little appetiser of fresh fig purée tart hits the table first, tasting sweet and gorgeously presented. There was a distinctively sharp taste of goat’s curd and my taste buds on the tongue could also detect the buttery flavour coming from the tart shell itself. I loved the crumbly biscuit from the tart base, it almost had a pie crust texture, ALMOST.

Aria_Nessy Eater (2)Goat’s Curd and Fig Purée tart

Soon after our delicious start, a lovely waiter walks to our table and offers a selection of the highest quality breads matched with seaweed and original butter. I opted for a warm thick slice of sourdough containing walnuts. Let me tell you I felt 100% guilty enjoying the whole slice of sourdough alone with a few smears of seaweed butter. The edges of the bread was indeed solid like a rock and as for the the spongy middle section it offered a tangy taste that can vary form barely perceptible to slightly sour. As for the seaweed butter, MY GOODNESS I have never encountered such a meeting like this before. It’s not your classic butter you have at home, it’s TOP NOTCH BUTTER that delivers a divine sweet yet salty, mellow flavour that is absolutely delicious with any selection of breads you prefer.

Aria_Nessy Eater (3)Sour Dough matched with Seaweed and Original Butter

By now we were starting to suffer the effects of butter madness and we had to quickly forget about it and move onto our first course. These beautiful shelled pacific oysters was disturbingly presented well like a little “nihon teien” translate to Japanese-style garden with the ice plants looking similar to moss garden, oysters looking similar to rocks and the blackberries reminded me of bushes. The raw oysters were meaty, strong flavoured and had a silky fresh plumpness to it. That oyster juice with the blend of the other ingredients on the plate was precious and tasted insanely good that it was unacceptable to rinse it off.

Aria_Nessy Eater (4)Shelled Pacific Oysters

Another option from the first course also included the pressed rabbit and chorizo terrine with romesco sauce and a piece of focaccia. This dish was absolutely interesting because rabbits are not usually on the menu so fancy lunch indeed. The terrine had a summer theme to it with the colours and garnish. I was impressed by the texture as it provided a jello feel to it with the added chunks of meat and spice from the chorizo which left a meaty package into my mouth.

Aria_Nessy Eater (5)Pressed Rabbit and Chorizo Terrine

Aria_Nessy Eater (6)Side view is always better 😛

For the FRIED focaccia it left me speechless!!! It was nice, soft and crispy in the first bite that I couldn’t control myself having the whole darn thing. OH DEAR! I don’t think I can stick to “sharing is caring”. Teehee.

Aria_Nessy Eater (7)Have you tried Deep Fried Focaccia before?

I was lucky enough to catch a steamed bass grouper on my plate with spanner crabCoorong pipis and smoked dulse. The snow white fillet was incredibly smooth with large flakes and it was tender, moist and had a mild flavour to it. The texture and consistency are similar to a swordfish. The creamy dressing and fish complimented each other because I had a cheeky grin after devouring this. 

Aria_Nessy Eater (8)Steamed Bass Grouper

Another main dish you MUST order is ARIA’s roasted holmbrae duck breasts with golden beetrootselderflower and chamomile. I went BALLISTIC having my very first bite. I went cray cray when the duck vanished into thin air. At the time of the disappearance of the duck I wished I could be a super slower eater because that duck was DUCKING GOOD, excuse the language.

Aria_Nessy Eater (9)Roasted Holmbrae Duck

What made it extremely a highlighting dish was not only the rich, strong flavour of the duck and the elderflower and not so the chamomile but it was the glossy golden layer atop of the duck which appeared to be a long strip sugar coat. It had a crackle noise and sounded like a wonderful orchestra.

Aria_Nessy Eater (10)Just can’t stop sharing inwards shot. 

Aria_Nessy Eater (11)Very lucky to sit window seat and it’s Sydney Harbour Bridge, well half of it. 

Moving onto DESSERTS but the only problem for us was deciding on which one to fulfil our dessert stomach’s cravings. Being indecisive our helpful waiter suggested the very popular mango and passionfruit soufflé. After a 20 minute wait ta-da the soufflé appears at our table looking all seductive with a scoop of roasted rice ice-cream and dusted icing. Look at that signature height of the soufflé, it was unbelievably 4-5cms tall. The dessert is served hot and oozing with goodness.

Aria_Nessy Eater (12)Mango and Passionfruit Soufflé

DEATH BY CHOCOLATE was the valrhona chocolate ganache– It was certainly eye catching to the point it could be displayed at a art gallery or maybe a museum. It was a very sophisticated dessert with cherries, cherry sorbet, warm chocolate doughnuts and hazelnut. I was seriously and I mean SERIOUSLY HYPNOTISED by the many many looks of this dessert.

Aria_Nessy Eater (13)Valrhona Chocolate Ganache

From a side angle it feels like this must be a new dessert. The valrhona chocolate ganache was super rich and smooth to the point I could just lick the extras on the plate. Cherries and cherry sorbet married so well together that their wasn’t a hint of sourness. As for the chocolate doughnuts and hazelnut I lost my sh!ts. Teehee.

Aria_Nessy Eater (16)It’s too pretty to eat this!!! BUT Oh well…nom nom nom

Aria_Nessy Eater (18)Smashed the dessert into pieces… 😀

WAIT there’s MORE DESSERT!!! What…more dessert? YES MORE DESSERT. Does this get any better?!?!

By now I felt like I was about to give birth to a food baby. The waiter walks straight towards our table with this gorgeously presented petit fours that I couldn’t decline such an opportunity to stuff my face with sweets. They were only a bite-size…

Aria_Nessy Eater (19)Complimentary Petit Fours (Normally $9.50 with tea or coffee)

Aria_Nessy Eater (20)Just one more bite…

After an indulgent lunch you may want to act like a tourist and take a glimpse of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. It would be wrong not to walk around.

Aria_Nessy Eater (22)Needed to stretch my legs after a luxury lunch experience at ARIA.

ARIA is certainly a luxurious lunch and so it does require you to put a side some time for you to really enjoy it. For $89 for 3 course I certainly loved each dish as I can really see the effort they put in with presentation and flavour. Goodness I can’t stop thinking about the dessert. Make sure when you book to request for WINDOW SEAT, you won’t be disappointed. Overall I give this place a two thumbs up. I look forward to returning and testing their degustation at night.

Aria_Nessy Eater (21)See you again ARIA’s. 

Photos by Vanny Tang

Like to know more about Nessy Eater food adventures?

You can follow Nessy Eater on Instagram / Facebook / Twitter or feel free to leave a YUMMY comment 😀

Aria on Urbanspoon

27 thoughts on “Appointment with ARIA, Sydney

    forfoodssake said:
    April 1, 2015 at 10:00 AM

    I agree with you, that seaweed butter is ridiculously good!! I also loved the chocolate ganache.
    Hope you’re well Vanny!

    Bianca

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 1, 2015 at 12:42 PM

      It’s crazy right?! Who would of thought to put seaweed and butter together…I’m badly craving for that right now!
      And I fine thanks Bianca, thanks for asking 😀

    gourmetgetaway said:
    April 1, 2015 at 3:07 PM

    Can’t get over that roasted duck piece. We’ve been hypnotised. Then the petit four…and just how lovelier can a soufflé be? *swoon

    Julie & Alesah
    Gourmet Getaways xx

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 1, 2015 at 10:36 PM

      When every dish arrived at the table I was floating on cloud nine!

    Feast Wisely said:
    April 1, 2015 at 7:39 PM

    Great write up – thanks for sharing. Now I feel really bad for not having been to Aria………will have to add it to the feasting bucket-list!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 1, 2015 at 10:38 PM

      Glad you liked it! Let me know when you visit 😀 I’ve been told they change the menu from time to time to keep the suspense.

        Feast Wisely said:
        April 2, 2015 at 7:36 AM

        Yes will do – it’s on the list!

    Berny @ I Only Eat Desserts said:
    April 2, 2015 at 10:31 AM

    The food looks so epic and omg that crispy duck *drools* – looks and sounds so good! I need to go to jelly school now 😛

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 2, 2015 at 2:07 PM

      LOL! Jelly school…now that’s the first I’ve heard of. Ah yes that duck was indeed droolworthy.

    Mr C @ The Food Diary said:
    April 3, 2015 at 8:49 PM

    Still haven’t checked this out, looks so good!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 4, 2015 at 6:27 PM

      It was seriously good! Totes put that on your bucket list 😀

    Maureen | Orgasmic Chef said:
    April 7, 2015 at 9:38 AM

    What an incredible meal and I’m not one bit surprised.

    Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella said:
    April 7, 2015 at 10:03 AM

    Sounds like you were very wowed by the experience. Good to see that it’s still plating up gorgeous dishes! 😀 The presentation of the oyster dish is really lovely!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 9, 2015 at 7:22 PM

      Was definitely wowed by every single dish and was surprised with the petit four. It’s such a great location as well!

    Joseph said:
    April 7, 2015 at 5:30 PM

    Great pics! Food looks great , I haven’t been to area in years but still remember how good the souffle was!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 9, 2015 at 7:23 PM

      Thanks Joseph! Souffle was incredibly fluffy and sooooo tasty. I honestly wanted to order one to take home.

    Choc Chip Uru said:
    April 8, 2015 at 10:18 AM

    Wow, I have heard so much about Aria but it is nice to see the dishes ‘in the flesh’ 😛 You sound awed by the experience! And love that ‘one more bite’ – I know the feels 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 9, 2015 at 7:24 PM

      Girl you’re right about that I was awed at the presentation and experience. Need to plan dinner at Aria’s soon 😀

    Helen | Grab Your Fork said:
    April 9, 2015 at 12:31 AM

    Deep fried focaccia?! HELLO! The plating is always so impeccable here too.

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 9, 2015 at 7:25 PM

      Yes FRIED focaccia. Something I wouldn’t mind having every single day.

    Cassie | Journey from Within said:
    April 10, 2015 at 12:21 PM

    mm~~~ I popped in last month for dinner and was so impressed!!
    Did they give you the mash potato on the side, THAT WAS SO DARN GOOD… velvety smoothness I tell you! I dream to this day about that mash! 😛
    And I have been told great things about that focaccia… so let me work my butt off some more to make some money and have another meal here… haha
    because … well, because it’s delicious with an amazing view!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 14, 2015 at 12:24 PM

      They have MASH POTATO!? I didn’t really notice the side dishes because I was too busy staring at the 3 course selection 😛

      I will have to try that next time I visit! Thanks for the tip.

    milkteaxx said:
    April 15, 2015 at 5:20 PM

    i am always surprised at how good mash can taste at fine dining establishments! ps your fone case features again!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 15, 2015 at 11:59 PM

      Good point Amy! Haha I love my phone case 😀

    The Blonde Tourist said:
    May 20, 2015 at 1:11 PM

    Yep I think you’ve cemented my birthday lunch location with this review. Perfect location and that price is so good for the quality!! BT x

      Nessy Eater responded:
      May 20, 2015 at 9:30 PM

      Glad to hear that BT! Food was really worth it and BONUS Sydney view whilst dining there. Hope you enjoy your birthday lunch!

Leave a Reply

