Public Dining Room- Balmoral Beach

Posted on

Nothing beats a waterfront view on lovely sunny day. I drove to Balmoral Beach one weekday and dined at Public Dining Room. Considering it’s location and view we scored ourselves a spectacular window-side table facing the beach. This was a pretty good deal if you don’t mind me rubbing it in. Teehee. I noticed some people brushed off the sand on their feet and waked in to the restaurant. Talk about casual beach feel that makes me feel right at home already. There is one thing you shouldn’t expect at this restaurant and that’s fish and chips. Public Dining Room is not only popular for its location but also their presentation in their fancy meals.

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (1)Fancy lunch time

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (1B)Public Dining Room

I always get excited when FREE rye sourdough arrives at our table. With a thick square of creamy super soft butter and a little bowl of sea salt for the table to share.

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (2)Complimentary slice of soft rye bread

Those fat juicy seared scallops ($26) were so fresh that they could have still swam. Teehee. They were seriously tender and lovingly plated with the crisp jamon serrano, pea puree and goats curd. Take one mouthful and you’d be quickly convinced to have another. For the delicate pea puree it wasn’t overwhelmingly rich and was a perfect match with the paper thin salty jamon serrano.

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (3)Fat juicy scallops come to Mama!

It took us a while to nibble through the duck terrine ($22) with house made fig chutney, watercress and foie gras. The generous slices of crostini was very helpful to balance out the overwhelming flavour of the terrine and added a crisp texture. I found this dish to be a very interesting presentation and reminded me of a forest. Mother nature was calling me to eat this forest!

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (4)What the duck? It’s Terrine.

Mocktail ($10) arrives looking all fabulous and coral pink. With a mix of pineappleapplecranberry and a squeeze of fresh lime. I think the lemon does lift and lighten the beverage.

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (5)Mocktail ($10)

A unique flavor experience was the fried zucchini flowers ($24) that came fresh from the fryer with stuffed ricotta, parmesan, papillon roquefort that was deliciously gooey and soft. The celeriac and cabbage remoulade with the sprinkles of pangrattato was equally impressive and seasoned to perfection.

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (6)Fried zucchini flowers ($24)

Crispy Pork belly ($26) was my favourite dish, the porky skin was so crisp that they were quickly munched down for an extreme hit of pork flavour. To accompany the meat we had generous dollops of apple sauce. Slices of apple, strands of savoy cabbage and woodland sorrel to decorate made this dish look super healthy. Close enough!

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (7)Pork calling!

Bursting with intense flavours and alluring aromas was the Tasmanian pasture fed eye fillet ($46) – The most tender of all steaks must be paired well with the massive pieces of king brown mushroom, roasted globe artichoke, mustard cress and a drizzle of brown onion jus. I could taste the long-lasting flavours of the eye fillet and mushrooms. The steak was lightly greased and it was all so very good.

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (8)I’m eyeing on you fillet.

Do I need to mention to you how tender the steak was? That thick juicy piece of meat may as well have been made out of butter. Hmmm medium rare is just the way I like it.

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (9)Eye-eye Captain Fillet.

Would you believe this is the view from our table? The atmosphere was so peaceful and relaxing at the same time. It felt like a get-away. If you enjoy this view then I totes recommend you to ask the staff to be seated next to the window.

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (10)What a Beach! Balmoral Beach

You’ll die and go to heaven with every bite of the Valrhona chocolate textures ($19). Decadently rich in chocolate with the bitterness of dark chocolate, the texture remains deliciously light and creamy. It’s the type of dessert you savour slowly with a glass of cold milk or tea or coffee as the intensity of chocolatey madness slowly builds on your palate.

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (11)You deserve this Valrhona chocolate textures ($19)

Meet and greet this chocolate bar with your fork. The crushed hazelnut pieces were incredibly tasty along with the smooth chocolate sensation. I’m GUILTY of eating this.

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (12)So many pretty textures in this Valrhona chocolate

If you’re looking for a tasty fruity dessert, try this sensational Mango and lychee bombe alaska ($18). The toasted meringue was heavily contained with a coconut crumble base and secured by green mango droplets . This beautiful merinague tastes as great as it looks, so fluffy and airy. I give this a gold medal for presentation of because if you look closely, you’d see it’s handcrafted with swirls.

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (13)Mango and lychee bombe alaska ($18)

I’m sure my teeth were hurting from all the sugar goodness, especially this was our second dessert, but that didn’t stop me from devouring this precious dessert. My teeth felt so spoilt with the hidden ice-cream in the center. Each bite delights with sweet mango…hmmm refreshing. I am so pumped to have another bombe alaska right now.

With a lovely view and heart-warming service, Public Dining Room is a real highlight for a fancy lunch and or romantic dinner. If you’re super eager to check out the beach make sure you bring swimmers along because I heard it’s great to visit on a perfect Sydney beach day.

Public Dining Room_Nessy Eater (14)You’re the BOMBE!

Photos by Vanny Tang

Like to know more about Nessy Eater food adventures?

You can follow Nessy Eater on Instagram / Facebook / Twitter or feel free to leave a YUMMY comment 😀

Public Dining Room on Urbanspoon

20 thoughts on “Public Dining Room- Balmoral Beach

    jkchen88 said:
    April 16, 2015 at 8:45 PM

    Looks amazing! I’ve been wanting to go for ages

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 16, 2015 at 11:40 PM

      Indeed worth travelling too! 🙂

    gourmetgetaway said:
    April 18, 2015 at 2:06 PM

    Seared scallops with jamon serrano – isn’t that great?! Plus the valrhona chocolate! Just these two and we’d pretty much smiled all day 😉 Thanks for sharing the experience with us!

    Julie & Alesah
    Gourmet Getaways xx

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 20, 2015 at 12:38 AM

      Oh boy those seared scallops were so so good! Stop reminding me! 😛

    Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella said:
    April 18, 2015 at 6:48 PM

    I miss living near there now that I’ve seen your pictures! This wasn’t around when we lived right near there. The food looks really good!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 20, 2015 at 12:40 AM

      Thanks Lorraine! I look forward to visiting Balmoral Beach soon. It seems like they’ve expanded with more restaurants.

    missklicious said:
    April 19, 2015 at 3:39 PM

    the dishes look so pretty and bright! I love the look of the scallops and the bombe alaska.

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 20, 2015 at 12:41 AM

      The dishes were so summery and absolutely loved their plating presentation. I’ve got to try their dinner!

    irene said:
    April 20, 2015 at 10:51 AM

    OMG that mango bombe alaska! It looks like what dreams are made of!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 24, 2015 at 1:10 AM

      Yes dreams were made! My belly was super satisfied.

    Chris (Chew Your Chow) said:
    April 20, 2015 at 4:13 PM

    What a view! And the food is so beautifully presented. Now to just drag my butt up to Balmoral haha.

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 24, 2015 at 1:29 AM

      What more can you ask for when Public Dining Room has got great food and a peaceful view 😀

    forfoodssake said:
    April 21, 2015 at 9:50 AM

    The Valrhona chocolate textures!!!!!! I wants. Crispy pork and chocolate, that’s pretty much a recipe for a great lunch. It’s been a while since I’ve been to Balmoral, may have to change that.

    Bianca

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 24, 2015 at 1:54 AM

      Oh that Valrhona was heaven in my mouth. Teehee. It was my first time visiting Balmoral and I must say I was so impressed. Totes going back again not only to eat but get baked under the sun 😛

    Jenny Chews said:
    April 24, 2015 at 10:28 AM

    THAT MERINGUE IS AN ARTWORK! Oh my god – I’m not a big fan of meringue but I would definitely eat that. And that steak looks so juicy and tender… oh man.

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 28, 2015 at 6:51 PM

      Artwork indeed! I’ll definitely order that again. Boy! That meat was damn delicious I can feel it on my tastebuds as I type 😛

    Maureen | Orgasmic Chef said:
    April 24, 2015 at 7:25 PM

    What a heavenly meal! I think I must put this on my bucket list.

      Nessy Eater responded:
      April 28, 2015 at 6:55 PM

      Yes! Do put this on your bucket list Maureen and don’t forget to bring your swimmers and sandals 😀

    Amanda @ Gourmanda said:
    May 10, 2015 at 6:23 PM

    The dishes are so beautiful. Those scallops look heavenly!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      May 19, 2015 at 2:20 PM

      I haven’t had scallops presented in this way before and I am glad I visited PDR 😀

Leave a Reply

