My Food Bag- Weekday Meals Made Easy at Home

Posted on

“What’s for dinner tonight?” seems like the most important question on everyone’s mind every night. Dinner ideas can be really frustrating especially when you just finished a stressful long day at work. When you finally figure out a dish you want to cook (usually the same idea: chicken and broccoli or steak with chips), then comes the chore of having to purchase the ingredients and lining up in the supermarket queue. By the time you finish unloading your groceries onto the kitchen table, you’d be ready to jump into bed. Rewind everything you just read and let’s just order seven days of take-out food for dinner. Luckily there is a solution for this and here is how: My Food Bag. Full stop!

My Food Bag was born in New Zealand in March 2013. After a huge success and support from their kiwi fans, it hopped on to a plane to Australian soil and launched in Sydney, Melbourne and soon to launch in other Australian cities. What My Food Bag offers is a selection of healthy recipes, AND EVERYTHING you need to whip up to make a 5-star dish (minus a fraction of pantry staples that you may already have at home e.g. egg, salt and or pepper).

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (1)

Food rainbow 

There are three different Food Bags to choose from to suit different households and tastebuds, unfortunately this does not include pets if you count them as family, sorry. Delivered on a Sunday so you’re all prepped for the week ahead:

  • The Family Bag, designed for a family with 2 adults and 2-3 young children ($169 for 5 people for 5 days)
  • The Classic Bag, designed for a family of 4 with 4 adults or 2 adults and 2 older children ($129 for 4 people for 3 days)
  • The Gourmet Bag, designed for two people ($149 for 2 adults for 4 days)

The first thing I noticed about My Food Bag is that they are great with communicating with their hungry customers. For instance we received an email on Friday informing us what recipes we’d be cooking the following week. I must confess all recipes for my week looked MOUTH-WATERING. On Saturday they send us a text telling us time slot for our delivery. And on Sunday it felt like Santa popped by because as promised My Food Bag-Classic arrived right on our doorstep. As we unwrapped our presents, everything seems to be top notch. The organic meat and free range chicken to spices and brown rice was meticulously labelled. Fruits, vegetables and herbs smelt ridiculously healthy. Totes give My Food Bag a HUGE TICK of APPROVAL for freshness.

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (2)

What’s in the My Food Bag Classic?

For your first delivery My Food Bag gifts you with a mini folder where you can store your deepest darkest secrets of your favourite recipe cards. All recipe cards are seasonally based and are created by their top dog Head Chef, Miguel Maestre (from Channel 10’s The Living Room), as well as Zoe Bingley-Pullin who co-host of Channel Ten’s Good Chef Bad Chef and 2011 MasterChef New Zealand winner, Nadia Lim.

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (3)

Time to unwrap the recipe bag…what’s cooking good looking.

Get ready to be rescued from starvation in your own home! What are you waiting for…keep scrolling for more healthy home cooked meals.

Day 1: SALMON WITH SALSA VERDE, SMASHED POTATOES AND SPINACH

Taste: Great start to a Monday with a fat piece of salmon that smelt like it just had been caught from the ocean before it was then pan fried. I loved how the salsa verde from The Cooking Room made the warm salad much more tastier. The downside of this dish was the salmon flavour seemed to be super strong in freshness that it didn’t blend so well with the salad. Maybe I should have marinated the fish with the salsa verde….note to self for next time.

Verdict: I was absolutely stuffed eating this dish and had half a plate of leftovers. It was a fantastic warm-up exercise to get started in the kitchen. I noticed there was vegetables on my plate and I cooked it (GASP).

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (4)

OH EM GEEE! What am I cooking?

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (4B)

Salmon with salsa verde, smashed potatoes and spinch

Day 2: ZA’ATAR CRUSTED CHICKEN WITH LEBANESE FATTOUSH

Taste: This dish was pretty darn addictive. The Lebanese fattoush was enough to send me running to the nearest farm and pick up the same ingredients to make it again. I did not know mint and parsley can go so well together with salad, it tasted refreshing. The chicken was so flavoursome like it had been marinated for hours but really it was max 10 minutes, so applause to za’atar. As for the pieces of Lebanese bread I made a new batch right after demolishing this dish. So much goodness in this recipe!

Verdict: To my surprise I now know how to make a fattoush salad using herbs and learnt how to use za’atar spice with chicken thighs. Also what an excellent idea of substituting deep fried chips with baked Lebanese bread and it’s served hot. Great for winter snacks that’s just around the corner and doesn’t increase your waistline.

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (5)

Gonna make the most delicious dish on the planet! Can you guess?

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (5B)

Za’atar crusted chicken with Lebanese fattoush

Being oh so childish as always and pretending to be creative in the kitchen, I thought it would be fun to make a fattoush boat. This would be great for the kids as it was served in a small portion. Do you like my work of food art?

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (5C)

Nessy Eater’s fattoush boat (Please don’t judge me!)

Day 3: PORK STEAKS WITH SWEET POTATO ROSTI, MANGO SALSA AND CURRY MAYO

Taste: There was plenty of vegetable element in this dish and all ingredients married so well together even the curry mayo. Life’s too short to just have one serving. Teehee. The pork steak bathed in curry powder was beautifully paired well with the salsa and had the perfect sweet/salty balance as well as a bit of tanginess from the dressing. LIP SMACKING DELICIOUS RECIPE!

Verdict: I am gobsmacked that I made a sweet potato rosti. Never knew sweet potato can be used like that before and that’s why I never buy sweet potatoes at the supermarket, but that’s going to change from now on. Besides the rosti the salsa was screaming summer all over the plate. Not only did this dish bring happiness to my belly but it kept me dreaming about it the next day.

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (6)

I think I can smell a healthy meal coming soon…

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (6B)

Look how fabulous my sweet potato rosti looks before pan frying it.

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (6C)

So weird to admit I made this…

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (6D)

Pork steak with sweet potato rosti, mango salsa and curry mayo

Day 4: ZOE’S LAMB, TAMARIND, PUMPKIN AND YOGHURT CURRY WITH BROWN RICE

Taste: Get punched in the mouth with Zoe’s lamb with flavours of modern India. This curry was easy to make and sang with flavour, I wish it was a never ending pot. The lamb was tasty enough with the curry and wasn’t overpowering. I may have had a bigger appetite than Zoe with this dish, so thank goodness for leftover Lebanese bread.

Verdict: The curry was seriously amazing because well I cooked it. Haha. However I failed to cook the brown rice accordingly to the recipe card, but that didn’t stop me from eating it. On a much happier note I now can make lamb curry. This pot of curry would be pretty high up on my list for winter meals. To my shock I used curry leaves, tamarind puree and Bombay curry powder for the very first time in one dish. I think I’m ready to apply for the next MasterChef.

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (7)

Need curry in a hurry? Make this!

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (7B)

May need to work on cooking brown rice a little bit more…

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (7C)

Zoe’s lamb, tamarind, pumpkin and yoghurt curry with brown rice

Day 5: VIETNAMESE BEEF SALAD WITH RICE NOODLES

Taste: The rice noodles was fully coated with fish sauce and there was completely no sign of lack of flavour. I quite enjoyed the slices of beef sirloin steak that combined so well with the super refreshing salad. It was very juicy and tender that it was pretty impossible to share. Pretty impressed with using Thai herbs and eating 3 vegetables. Can be easily served hot or cold because that sweet sour flavour doesn’t vanish.

Verdict: This was so easy to make that I could do this blind-folded. Most of the time spent was chopping up my vegetables into different shapes. Again I am still overwhelmed of using herbs in any of My Food Bag recipes.

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (9)

Bring on the next My Food Bag recipe!

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (9B)

Vietnamese beef salad with rice noodles

Aaaand that’s a wrap up of My Food Bag Classic. I have definitely gained a lot of skills during these 5 days and instead of eating my beloved steak and fried repeatedly during the weekdays, I have now got 5 recipe cards to use. It was great that every day was a mix of vegetables and meat so it wasn’t boring at all for me to be in the kitchen. There was plenty of left over spices and herbs that can be used for other recipes you can try at home. I love the idea of having not to use my brain to plan ahead of what to eat for dinner and go to the grocery store to buy each ingredient. My Food Bag is super duper convenient for families.

Top 5 Reasons to Try My Food Bag

  1. The ingredients you pull out of the paper bags is 110% fresh, you can smell it from miles away. All My Food Bag produce is organic and free range that is straight from the farmers. There is definitely a difference to the taste when it comes to organic vs. purchasing at a supermarket.
  2. Delivered straight to your door for FREE. This means fewer trips to the shops. No need to battle the supermarket queue on weekends- I know how frustrating that can get!
  3. Don’t need to menu plan because My Food Bag has already planned 5 days of delicious recipes for you and the family.
  4. Great family activity and bonding time with kids and or loved ones.
  5. You’ll be eating healthy for dinner. There are at least 2 vegetables or greens for each recipe without you even knowing!

Final Thoughts about My Food Bag

  • Felt like a 5 star chef in the house
  • Never knew I can use spices and herbs in my own kitchen
  • Had leftovers = YUM
  • Never ate 2-4 vegetables on one plate in one night before
  • Great family activity
  • Learnt a few new tricks

My Food Bag_Nessy Eater (10)

 Photos by Vanny Tang

Disclaimer: Nessy Eater received a trial of My Food Bag-Classic, thanks to Porter Novelli and My Food Bag.

Opinions are however, Nessy Eater’s own.

Check out other My Food Bag post I did. Click here.

Like to know more about Nessy Eater food adventures?

You can follow Nessy Eater on Instagram / Facebook / Twitter or feel free to leave a YUMMY comment 😀

13 thoughts on “My Food Bag- Weekday Meals Made Easy at Home

    Maureen | Orgasmic Chef said:
    May 26, 2015 at 11:00 PM

    Everything looks so good. I went to their site and I couldn’t find where they deliver to. Maybe it’s there but I can’t find it. 🙂

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 4, 2015 at 1:38 AM

      Thanks Maureen! Best to give them an email, but atm I hear it’s only Sydney and Melbourne delivery

    Nadia said:
    May 27, 2015 at 10:47 AM

    Wow, looks amaaaaaazing! You’re obviously a super cook – those meals looked restaurant quality!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 4, 2015 at 1:39 AM

      Thank you so much Nadia! You’re too kind 😀

    Helen | Grab Your Fork said:
    May 27, 2015 at 3:41 PM

    Aww love your fatoush boats. So cute!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 4, 2015 at 1:39 AM

      Thanks Helen! I totes love playing with food in the kitchen 😀

    Cassie | Journey from Within said:
    June 1, 2015 at 7:12 PM

    When can I come over for a food feast? 😛

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 4, 2015 at 1:40 AM

      ANYTIME Cassie! My fatoush boats are waiting for you 😀

    thecasualfoodblogger said:
    June 8, 2015 at 4:32 PM

    That food bag looks delicious and super healthy too.

      Nessy Eater responded:
      June 9, 2015 at 12:07 AM

      Indeed healthy! Thanks for the comment 😀

    Chompchomp said:
    July 25, 2015 at 6:23 AM

    Lol I have the exact same discussions with the Boy about dinner mid-week. My question of “what do you want for dinner” is never met with a helpful suggestion and it gets frustrating having to be the one to think of ideas. About half of my weekday shifts end quite late as the vet hospital doesn’t shut until after eight and it’s a half hour drive home. Having something definitely decided on for dinner and better still partially prepped is such an appealing idea….we have got a couple of businesses starting up like this in Perth but I’m yet to try them….

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 1, 2015 at 2:54 PM

      That’s good to hear Perth is expanding these weekly dinner meals. What I love about this concept is that everything is fresh and it’s not those fancy microwaved meals. I am not to sure if My Food Bag does offer it in Perth yet but when it does…let me know your thoughts.

    […] Read more here […]

Leave a Reply

