Date with Vue De Monde at Rialto Towers |Melbourne

Posted on Updated on

You may have seen the acclaimed Australian Executive Chef Shannon Bennett earlier this year and that’s because his appeared on MasterChef Australia with his mouth watering and nasty surprise: the theatrical warm chocolate and orange mousse from Bistro Vue. Bennett who is one of the world’s most talented chef at his restaurant Vue De Monde is widely recognized as one of Australia’s top 100 fine dining venues and most impressively it is situated at level 55 of Melbourne’s iconic Rialto building. 

For a price tag of $200-250 per person for the gastronomes menu and a commitment to have the wine pairing as well, ranging from $30+ per glass is only appropriate. Ahh, this review is going to be long because the food is too good. Continue reading and you may drool. Just a little as each dish really plays on your mind.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (1)

We start off with compressed apple crisps with macadamia pureé. The crisps were a perfect crunch. It contained a nutty and sugary taste that seemed like a crime to eat with the compressed macadamia puree being intense. You’ll be nuts not to eat this because it almost tasted somewhat like Kettle chips, but only in a “healthier” form.

As far as first impression goes, two thumbs up.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (3)Compressed apple crisps & macadamia pureé

From this point onward, the menu was on fast-forward mode.

With no menu in front of me, Vue De Monde decides to keep it all mysterious or perhaps YOLO style. Our next snack was the pine smoked salmon pearls. I had absolutely no regret eating the colourful mini vegetable garden on a plate with that heavenly intense burst of flavour from the salmon pearls. It was impossibly difficult to pretend I didn’t like this dish.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (5)Middle: Pine smoked salmon pearls

I may have studded when I devoured the CANDY COATED smoked eel with a bit of caviar sprinkled on top and tucked underneath, white chocolate. I had immense fear this would vanish quickly and I was right. I enjoyed the savoury flavour and light candy crunch, but what was mind-blowing was that delightful buttery taste coming from the chocolate. I completely lost my mind…

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (4)Smoked eel, white chocolate, caviar

Next on the entrée menu the BBQ lamb heart and duck tongue with a dash of pepper. I was utterly shocked to see these quirky parts of the animal in the menu, but that didn’t stop me from eating it. I wasn’t expecting this to be super impressive with that generous amount of caramelisation and light smokey smell, but after one bite it changed my perspective. I loved it. To accompany these BBQ meat I had to order a glass of NV Charles Heidsieck ‘Brut Reserve’. This bubbly had its own personality with fresh floral notes.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (8)Top right to bottom right:  BBQ lamb hearts, Duck tongue w mountain pepper

Left: NV Charles Heidsieck ‘Brut Reserve’, Reims, France

Soon after that oysters arrived with a citrus taste. They were fresh and creamy, just the way I like it, classic and simple.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (9)Oyster

Just when I was so convinced that the snacks were over, here comes a massive piece of Himalayan pink salt rock and as a bonus we get front seats watching thick slices of salt-cured Flinders Island wallaby being rolled up at our table.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (6)Prepared at the table 

The wallaby was pretty damn good with a drop of green herb puree. It almost had the same texture as a tuna sashimi, but slightly tougher and leaner. But yeah more of the wallaby would’ve been good because everything tastes better with pink salt rock.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (7)Salt cured wallaby

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (10)Vue De Monde’s open kitchen

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (11)At this point I realise that each of those rocks  were hand-crafted.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (12)Felt like I was eating with the Royal Family with these cutlery.

Now can we start on the first course? 😀 😀

The Spanish mackerel with cylinder potato filled with chicken puree and on top a teaspoon of caviar was simply perfect. The square piece of fish was fresh and succulent. My goodness the light crust was enough for a crunch but not enough to take over the entire dish. Now the quince sauce offered a sweet balance and tied together beautifully with the thinly sliced potato.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (14)Spanish mackerel, potato, chicken, caviar

I had no clue where the chef came from, but I was so excited to watch first-hand what he was preparing for me next. The chef explains to us that we are having Blackmore wagyu.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (15)

I know I am having meat…

Fast-forward a minute later and it’s just oh so right watching wagyu being cooked like that. VDM knows how to serve me well. Medium rare please chef.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (16)Blackmore Wagyu “steak & onions”

So okay, yes I was drawn to this dish and it wasn’t just because VDM served wagyu…*rolls eyes*. I hearted that meat with the sauce which had the right amount of tenderness and were balanced out with the smoky scent in the air with a hint of pepper. Besides that piece of meat the garden greens looked astonishing.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (17)Adding the final touches

Baby I lost my breathe at my first bite of the wagyu. I just couldn’t keep up after that. I particularly liked the texture and I wish I could have a larger portion.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (18)Medium rare is just the way I like my meat

Not sure if you can handle this but this has got to be the best theatre experience I have ever had for pallet cleansing. You can’t go wrong with a bit of science especially when it’s liquid nitrogen. Liquid nitrogen was poured into a bed of wood sorrell and this instantly snap-freeze the ingredients.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (19)Cucumber, wood sorrel

We were then asked to pound into fine pieces then a scoop of cucumber sorbet was spooned in. The result was freaken astonishing. Definitely super refreshing and no signs of it being tooth achingly. This dish was amazing and would return for that alone.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (20)Cucumber, wood sorrel

The kitchen sent us a small black leather pouch and in it contained a warm loaf of sour dough bread and to accompany hand churned butter. Somehow this just made my soul feel all fuzzy. I had no regrets covering my slice of bread with butter, NO REGRETS! As expected the butter was silky soft.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (21)Sour dough and house made butter

Excuse me but I think there seems to be a mistake. I didn’t order breakfast. In continuation of this mysterious menu, we were served with eggs on toast! Oh how I cannot resist this, especially when you can serve it with a glass of 2006 Louis Roederer Cristal champagne. I think this is called Champagne Breakfast“. And that kids is how VDM will spoil you for breakfast.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (22)“Champagne Breakfast”

This dish was TOP of my list at VDM because the textures were incredible and satisfied my tastebuds. That duck yolk and drizzle of truffle sauce did not disappoint. The crunch of the saltbush plus paper thin toast had my head spinning. It’s crazy rich, but you will not reach the overwhelmingly sick stage. Round 2, thanks!

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (23)Duck yolk, pear, truffle

OOOOZY!!! Oh how I love a good runny yolk, soooooo creamy and so heavenly deeeeeeeelicious! Gotta love me some calories. Get that calorie action game face on!!!!

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (24)

I don’t think you understand…this duck yolk belongs to me. 

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (25)Butter time!

Our next course was the three way marron. I had high hopes for this and I am glad it delivered. And while you are living the high life you might as well sneak in a glass of 2013 Bourgogne Chardonnay Domaine Paul Pernot. This wine maintains a great balance between fresh citrus notes and the lively acidity.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (26)Three Way Marron

The marron was super juicy, like, fully JUICY! I tell you this course was just pretty darn addictive. I smothered the marron into the super silky brown butter like full on. This baby marron has got to be right up there on my favourite fine dining course ever! I was pleasantly surprised how well the three way marron married so well together.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (27)Top left to bottom left: Brown butter, Marron & Marzipan

You know what’s perfect about this marron sandwich? EVERYTHING! Saving the best to last was an excellent idea. Not a single crumb was left behind and we all know that’s a really good sign. This delicate piece of sandwich required to be eaten with the hands and there may have been some finger-licking in between, so be prepared.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (28)Marron sandwich

OH NO! Savoury course is almost over and to be frankly honest, food coma had already been activated, but that didn’t stop me from appreciating the next dish. Ox tongue with beetroot and bone marrow sure opened new doors of discovering something adventurous. Greeted with a white powdered creme fraiche that visually looked dry but as soon as it lands on your tongue it instantly melted like a snowman that was under the sun.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (30)Ox tongue, beetroot, bone marrow

I had a bit of trouble trying to find the ox tongue but as soon as you scoop a tiny portion into your mouth there’s an enormous amount of meaty, creamy flavour laced with shreds of beetroot. Add a glass of 2010 Joh Jos Prum Graacher Himmelreich Riesling Spätlese and you get a remarkable flavour.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (31)Can you spot where the ox tongue?

By now I mentally imagined I had gotten up and walked off the calories that I just digested. I did say mentally. Teehee. Helllllo butternut with sunflowers and passionfruit. This isn’t your ordinary pallet cleanser as I never heard these combinations before. Crunchy crushed sunflowers says howdy to my teeth with burst after burst of butternut and passionfruit flavour.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (32)Butternut squash, sunflower seeds, passionfruit

They tasted like summer with the fresh sweet fruity taste of the passionfruit. Sydney needs more of these nice light dessert to end the meal with.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (33)A ball of happiness

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (34)Spotted the cheese trolley!!! Say CHEEEEEESE.

I should have probably invested in 15 pairs of granny pants because I felt so overweight that I would require someone to roll me out of here. The goat’s milk with blueberries and fennel was welcomed to our table. Topped with sugary crystal that you could easily break with a spoon and the texture was sooooo fine with the similarity of a panna cotta times creme brulee that was served cold.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (35)Goat’s milk, blueberries, fennel

How can you decline chocolate soufflé when you get to witness the icing in action on your table? This dusting was going on for a solid 10 seconds. Shame it had to stop…

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (36)DARK Chocolate soufflé

BELLY SATISFYING souffle I have come across. I was not quite sure how I managed to finish this dessert but I did. It was light and fluffy with a knock in the face dark chocolate and an oozy molten chocolate centre.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (38)

To celebrate the end of our degustation a selection of petit-fours arrived. Get ready to BREATHE HEAVY. It’s nothing you’ve seen before. These salted caramel chocolate seashells had me eyes tripping. With sprinkled salt added to them I honestly couldn’t spot which one was the edible ones. AHHH sugar gods why weren’t the rest of those shells be made out of chocolate?!

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (39)salted caramel chocolate seashells

We were offered jelly pennies and I liked the novelty but the taste wasn’t how I pictured. There’s a teeny wenny sign of alcoholic flavour but hardly noticeable, with a hint of sweetness made with it.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (40)Jelly pennies

Have you ever had menthol lollipops? For me this was my first time ever and there was rarely any actual menthol flavour, which is alright for me. Served frosted I digged the presentation more then the flavour. It looked incredibly kawaii. I seriously thought it was a cherry. VDM fooled me again! *applause*

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (41)Menthol lollipop

The famous cherry lamington was impressive. I can’t describe how wrong was I to believe yet again what you see is not what you get. This lamington was leaning towards a mousse cake and that cherry brings everything all together.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (42)Cherry lamington

ZOMG! Our degustation is finally over. Before I left the VDM building to head straight to the airport and catch my next flight back to Sydney, we were given a mini tour and we had to stop here to look at this spectacular view.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (43)This is what the view looks like at Vue De Monde.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (44)Yeah we are on level 55!!!

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (45)Tiny bubbles…

I seriously didn’t expect to visit Vue De Monde in my final hours in Melbourne. Did I mention I ran straight to the airport to catch my next flight home to Sydney after eating this degustation. I now know the meaning of gastronome. I am belly satisfied 😀 😀 😀

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (2)Woo-hoo I can finally tick this off my bucket list!!!!

Just when the fat foodie gang were about to walk out of there, we were given a really awesome surprise package for the “next day”. It’s hard to forget Vue De Monde when they shower you with more food on your way out.

What I truly loved about this experience was the creativity for every single dish that was served to us, the exquisite service and food combined with high theatre. OH and the goodie bag on my way out, which I highly recommend every other fine-dining places should have because adults still act like kids and this big kid loves little surprises, especially when it contains food.

Vue De Monde_Nessy Eater (46)“For the next day” – brioche, honey, digestives, granola & tea

Photos by Vanny Tang

Like to know more about Nessy Eater food adventures?

You can follow Nessy Eater on Instagram / Facebook / Twitter or feel free to leave a YUMMY comment 😀

Click to add a blog post for Vue de monde on Zomato

19 thoughts on “Date with Vue De Monde at Rialto Towers |Melbourne

    Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella said:
    August 17, 2015 at 8:44 PM

    Great review Nessy! Your photos are gorgeous and it’s obvious the time and care that went into this post 😀

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 19, 2015 at 8:21 PM

      Thanks Lorraine! It was a tough job eating, taking photos and enjoying the most talked about view 😀

    forfoodssake said:
    August 18, 2015 at 9:36 AM

    What a fabulous post Vanny!! I’m particularly intrigued by the Cherry Lamington! Gorgeous photos!!!

    We’re due for some sort of food related catch up soon 🙂

    Bianca

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 19, 2015 at 8:23 PM

      Thanks for visiting Bianca. My jaws dropped when I grabbed it off the plate and tasted it.
      Did someone say foooood?! I’m definitely in 😀

    thehungrymum said:
    August 18, 2015 at 6:06 PM

    wowzers! What an incredible feast. It all looks so lux.

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 19, 2015 at 8:27 PM

      VDM sure has its creativity and I think the best asset was the theatrical experience 😀

    chocolatesuze said:
    August 19, 2015 at 9:03 AM

    everything looks so amazing, love the presentation!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 19, 2015 at 8:36 PM

      Yep it was mind-blowing!!! It took me weeks to lose all those calories and I’m still working on it 😛

    Helen | Grab Your Fork said:
    August 20, 2015 at 12:01 AM

    Wow such an incredible meal. And I’m in love with the cutlery too. Very regal!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      August 20, 2015 at 10:31 PM

      VDM does an exceptional presentation!!! 😀

    Cassie | Journey from Within said:
    August 21, 2015 at 3:45 PM

    What a meal you had!
    That chocolate soufflé though!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      September 15, 2015 at 5:24 PM

      I tell you Cassie it was MORE than just a soufflé 😛

    Joseph (@UpForAFeed) said:
    August 21, 2015 at 8:15 PM

    Some really interesting dishes , excellent presentation too!! I have always wanted to go but never got the chance when I have been in Melbourne..

      Nessy Eater responded:
      September 15, 2015 at 5:28 PM

      Really worth every penny Joseph! Melbourne seriously aces with food scenes. I wish I can teleport 😀

    Chompchomp said:
    August 24, 2015 at 1:34 PM

    My mum and sister have eaten at Vue to Monde a number of times but sadly I’ve never scored an invite as my sister has estranged herself from me for years. The food always looks so incredible and I love the theatrics with some of the dishes. Sigh…one day!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      September 15, 2015 at 5:30 PM

      Oh dear so sorry to hear that. Maybe your sister knows that you’d eat 3/4 of her meal so you’re better off going with people who don’t eat much 😛

    Maddie | Maddie Loves Food said:
    September 7, 2015 at 9:17 PM

    What a lovely meal it looks like you enjoyed!! I’m absolutely dying to go here! Everything looks so innovative and exciting; I’m loving the look of the cucumber sorbet, and that cherry lamington looks to die for! ❤

      Nessy Eater responded:
      September 15, 2015 at 5:32 PM

      I was on cloud 9 Maddie! Really REALLY wish I could have VDM at least once a month or perhaps I can be their guest judge to taste the “seasonal menu”… haha

    […] last time I had visited Vue De Monde I was crazy impressed to know that my belly could not eat the next morning. Maybe it was because we […]

Leave a comment