Crazy for Candeloris |Smithfield

Posted on Updated on

The Candelori’s restaurant has operated for the past 36 years, and recently been reviewed by Gault & Millau 2015. Since opening in 1999, the restaurant has gained a reputation for providing delicious Italian food including house-made pasta made from scratch and with an atmosphere that feels extravagant and classy that suits both social and business occasions. Candelori’s is a true dining destination for all foodies who love Italian cuisine from the Western suburbs and beyond.

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (0)What a lovely restaurant to dine at.

We are off to a great start with these tall, fluffy garlic bread sticks ($9?) with the obvious ingredient…minced garlic. We sure took our time with these as it seemed so great to dunk these solider boys into the entree and pasta base.

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (1)Garlic Bread Sticks ($9?) 

I was a fool to think the pan seared scallops ($27) could be shared between two people along with Jerusalem artichokes, nduja and watercress. I was not trustworthy to evenly distribute the scallops as it turned out I had 3/4 quarters of this entree. Whoopsh!

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (1)
Pan Seared Scallops ($27)

There is no reason not to become a vegetarian anymore because the crumbed eggplant ($27) with Buffalo mozzarella served with pormodoro sure disguised itself as a BIG piece of steak. It’s extraordinary how the texture of this eggplant can almost, I mean ALMOST fit into the meat category. I was fooled by the presentation and AGAIN fooled by the texture. It really knew how to show-off that tomato surrounding.

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (2)
Crumbed Eggplant ($27)

Look what do we have here! Hand cut pappardelle osso buco ragu($29) – The ribbon egg pasta is made fresh daily at the restaurant and provides the perfect consistency of texture and flavour. A lot of muscle work goes out to these pastas and marinating the veal shank ragu, so make sure you lick your bowls clean, CLEAN I TELL YOU.

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (3)
Hand cut pappardelle osso buco ragu ($29)

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (4)
Only ribbons I’d eat!

We couldn’t miss the opportunity to give the squid ink tagliolini with scampi and scallops ($36) a try with baby calamari and cherry tomatoes. This ex-SQUID-ite dish may be a hit or a miss, depending how madly in love you are with having squid ink as your main ingredient. It certainly is a tad saltier than other pasta dishes, but married so well with the seafood.

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (5)
Squid Ink Tagliolini with Scampi and Scallops ($36)

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (9)Dive right into those tentacles…I mean tagliolini.

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (7)Hmmm fresh seafood in my belly.

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (8)
I think I wouldn’t mind having a few glasses of wine, please…

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (9)
Dining area at Candelori’s

Listen up kids. I turned into GODZILLA when the san valentino ($18) arrived. This dish took me to a HAPPY PLACE with the white chocolate mousseraspberry jelly and biscotti. My claws came out when there was only…

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (10)
That presentation of the San Valentino ($18)

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (14)Where do I even begin?!?!

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (12)
That inner photo…you like?

There may have been a little tension between me and my partner in crime when the indulgence ($18) had magically appeared at the table. With a total of 70% dark chocolate, passionfruit curd served with a chocolate moist biscuit it’s no wonder stacks were high.

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (13)
There’s a reason why this is called indulgence ($18)

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (14)
Ready for the next photo?

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (15)
OH BOY! Come to me baby!

What do we have here…12 hours baked meringue ($18) – Yes I slowly became vulnerable when snow white crisp shell vanished into thin air along with vanilla cream, rhubarb jam, poached apple, lemon powder and a zesty sorbet.

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (16)
12 Hours Baked Meringue ($18)

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (17)
I have a lot of explaining to do…but this was just SPECTACULAR! 12 Hours and not a single sign of sunburn.

If you don’t know already Candelori’s was named in the Gault & Millau Australia in 2015. That’s incredible especially when the deserve points for their quality of freshness of produce, the creativity and professionalism of presentation and can’t forget the harmony of the menu.

Candeloris_Nessy Eater (22)Well done Candelori’s!

Till next time Candelori’s and I will have that squid ink tagliolini with scampi and scallops to myself AND each of the desserts I order too.
Candeloris_Nessy Eater (23)Photos by Vanny Tang

Disclaimer: Nessy Eater attended Candeloris, thanks to Candeloris.

Please note: Nessy Eater visited in on November 2015. Desserts change seasonally. 

Opinions are however, Nessy Eater’s own.

Like to know more about Nessy Eater food adventures?

You can follow Nessy Eater on Instagram / Facebook / Twitter or feel free to leave a YUMMY comment 😀

Candelori's Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

8 thoughts on “Crazy for Candeloris |Smithfield

    Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella said:
    February 3, 2016 at 7:41 PM

    The food looks really good! The guy that installed our blinds recommended this place to me. He said it was his favourite place to go! 😀

      Nessy Eater responded:
      February 7, 2016 at 6:35 PM

      It’s a go to for me. The pasta and desserts are to die for 🙂

    Cassie | Journey from Within said:
    February 15, 2016 at 11:41 AM

    The desserts! I want them all!!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      February 17, 2016 at 10:39 PM

      It’s not hard to get them ALL 😀

    Jayde Onyx Lei said:
    February 18, 2016 at 3:33 PM

    Seriously just made me orgasm. My mouth is jizzin’. 🦄

      Nessy Eater responded:
      February 20, 2016 at 10:11 PM

      Now that’s a good description 😛

    Lucy Abraham said:
    March 30, 2016 at 10:11 AM

    What a great looking meal! I am surprised that you managed to restrict yourself to only 3/4 of the scallop dish – I would’ve had the whole thing for myself! The squid ink tagliateli with seafood makes my mouth water…

      Nessy Eater responded:
      May 21, 2016 at 7:50 PM

      I surprised myself too, but sharing is caring. OH! I think I found an excuse to return for their squid ink! I think I might have to order two or three… 🙂

Leave a comment