Let’s Meat at LP’s Quality Meats

Posted on Updated on

LET’S MEEEEAT! So it seems we were all feeling a little peckish for meat and so the journey begins at LP’s Quality Meats in Chippendale. To enjoy your experience here I’d suggest to wear something super comfy for example wear fat pants or perhaps bring a pair and put it in your handbag because if you don’t you don’t you’ll be walking like a model who has a twisted stomach or something.

It’s a meat post!

We arrived 10 minutes after the restaurant had opened and already there were hungry peeps huddled up around the bar thinking about what they should for dinner. Whilst making those tough discussions it was wise to order an alcoholic beverage and soak in the the LP vibes.

The early hungry birds that get the worms

What’s for dinner folks?

Of all possible poultries to sample we opt for the chicken liver pâté ($16), which I thought would be a great starting point. To our surprise we had complimentary sea salt butter, marinated olives, gigantic green jalapeño looking all innocent next to the English mustard.

Chicken Liver Pate got me saying OOHhhh & Ahhhh.

Oddly enough I was shocked to have enjoyed the house-made sour dough with the chicken liver pâté together. The bread was soft and spongy with the heavenly spread of pâté.

House-Made Sour Dough Bread

On the face of it, the pâté looked tasty with its blushing pink colour and smooth honey coating with sprinkles of black pepper. It certainly was flavourful and wasn’t overpowering or thick in texture rather light and smooth. We all agreed that it wasn’t short on chicken liver flavour. It was a real winner for the table!

Can’t have it in any other way…

Wasn’t sure if I could finish what I had started because I could feel my soul in a ball of fire as soon as I took a tiny bite out of the green jalapeño that was at least 10cm tall, YIKES! I was on Struggle Street as the chilli range went from moderately to extremely hot, call the fire brigades guys!

Life is like a jar of jalapeños, you never knew which one is going to burn your tongue.

Didn’t want to be a party pooper and not order the gin ($18). It was a great introduction to explore this classic drink and with its acquired subtle sweet tangy taste, I sure wouldn’t mind going for another round.

Forgive me for I have ginned.

In between our starter we noticed a few undercover visitors headed towards the kitchen and gathered around the smoking machine where the meat dreams come true.

Look who we have here…is it the LP Meat Gods?

The beef tongue ($18) had awakened my tastebuds as I never knew that part of the beef with smoked beef fat vinaigrette could be so well married. This was by far the best warm starter dish to order if you fancy a twist.

Beef Tongue with Smoked Beef Fat Vinaigrette ($18)

It may look slightly frightening for some as it looked raw but flavour-wise, we all enjoyed it, especially with the bathed chopped Spanish onions and fresh parsley in the vinaigrette added that extra oomph to it.

Now that’s a really thin beef tongue slice.

I was excused for one moment whilst the Toronto Maple ($18) spun me right round, baby right round like I had entered the Wizard of Oz when Dorothy had somehow got swirled into the mystic clouds. The drink had strong notes of alcohol which I felt it had cleansed my insides so thoroughly that I could only take tiny sips at a time. On a fun note if you’re looking for something wicked on a Friday night then this is the go to.

That Toronto Maple sure made my head spin.

The smoked beef short rib ($48) deserves a special place in my heart and I think it’s important for people who like meat are made aware this badass of a rib exists. You want to know more, don’t you? Well you gotta continue reading…so scroll down!

Smoked Beef Short Rib ($48 -Left) & Smoked Sausage ($14-Right)

Hallelujah in my mouth was the smoked beef rib! I felt like I had a connection with that thick juicy piece of tender meat and it may sound like I was overreacting but surely you can agree with me if you were there to witness and taste it yourself. I was in disbelief that the rib was so tender and completely balanced with smoky flavours all around that I didn’t need the English mustard, tomato sauce or chimichurri. I couldn’t and wouldn’t stop when I had my first bite; however the only problem for us was we demanded more of it but bear in mind the price tag, so we had to end it here.

Let us meat again, pretty please?!

Time is a funny thing because when we had ordered the bread roll ($2 p.p), we had thought of a clever idea and built our own beef rib burger without any extras required. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to provide proof of this as I was in a bit of a sticky situation, but imagine having two of your favourite things – meat & carbs put together and then VOILA! You know you want it…haha.

You see me bread rolling…you’re hating.

Finally for the smoked sausage ($14) the texture and smell were promising, as was the enticing glossy smoky look. Without being overpowering with spices it was a taste we’d all enjoyed as the texture was neither too firm nor soft and tasted gourmet.

You’re looking smoking hot LP sausage!

A highlight at LP Quality Meats was everything on their menu are all hand made in- house, which means what you pay for is what you get. The MUST HAVE I’d recommend include chicken liver pate, beef tongue and smoked beef short rib. Everything on their menu is for sharing and it would be best to go with no more or less than 4 hungry humans, just so you can try a bit of everything. To the LP Meat Gods out there, please take me with you on your journey to the meat land as I really enjoyed all the dishes we ordered.

Watched the LP Boys Work Work Work Work

Photos by Vanny Tang

Like to know more about Nessy Eater food adventures?

You can follow Nessy Eater on Instagram / Facebook / Twitter or feel free to leave a YUMMY comment  🙂

8 thoughts on “Let’s Meat at LP’s Quality Meats

    George said:
    November 1, 2017 at 7:10 PM

    Fantastic photos and great post! Is there a chance if the smoked short rib could be delivered to my door, like now?

    George

      Nessy Eater responded:
      November 8, 2017 at 7:06 PM

      Thanks for visiting! I know them feels too… 😛

    Food Lover said:
    November 8, 2017 at 3:21 PM

    All that glorious meat……YUMMO!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      November 8, 2017 at 7:06 PM

      Would love to have tried the entire meat menu…guess another excuse for next time haha

    Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella said:
    November 9, 2017 at 7:37 AM

    Sounds like a meal of meaty goodness! I haven’t been yet but I’ve tried one of their sausages at Continental and it was amazingly good! 😀

      Nessy Eater responded:
      November 16, 2017 at 9:23 AM

      You must go! It was such shame I didn’t have a bigger stomach otherwise I would have tried the entire menu 😀

    The Napoli Alert said:
    January 27, 2018 at 7:45 PM

    I loved the pate here, it was excellent!

      Nessy Eater responded:
      January 30, 2018 at 5:50 PM

      Thank you for reminding me!!! 🙂 I feel like it’s time for another trip to LP!!!

Leave a comment